Welcome to Copernicus Student's Page!!

Monthly Archives: October 2021

On October 8th this year’s Nobel Peace Prize laureates were announced. The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2021 to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace.

The Nobel Peace Prize is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Swedish industrialist, inventor and armaments manufacturer Alfred Nobel, along with the prizes in Chemistry, Physics, Psysiology or Medicine and Literature.

“The said interest shall be divided into five equal parts, which shall be apportioned as follows: /- – -/ one part to the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”

Excerpt from the will of Alfred Nobel

Freedom of expression and freedom of the press are crucial for democracy and protection against war and conflict. The 2021 Peace Prize laureates are representative of all journalists who stand up for this ideal.

Maria Ressa uses freedom of expression to disclose abuse of power, use of violence and growing authoritarianism in her native country, the Philippines. She carries out vital investigative reporting on human rights violations in President Rodrigo Duterte’s deadly so-called war on drugs. As the co-founder and CEO of Rappler, an uncompromising online news site, she have documented how social media is being used to spread fake news, harass opponents and manipulate the society. Simply put, she is a global icon for press freedom.

https://youtu.be/-N9B8bBEli8- Hear Maria Ressa’s reaction when she hears the news from Olav Njølstad, Secretary of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, on being awarded the 2021 Nobel peace Prize just before the public announcement.

Dmitry Muratovis defender of freedom of speech in Russia under increasingly challenging conditions. He is the editor-in-chief of Novaya Gazeta, the most independent newspaper in Russia today, that has published critical articles on subjects ranging from corruption, police violence, unlawful arrests, electoral fraud and “troll factories” to the use of Russian military forces both within and outside this country. Novaja Gazeta’s opponents have responded with harassment, threats and murder. Since the newspaper’s start, six of its journalists have been killed, including Anna Politkovskaja who wrote revealing articles on the war in Chechnya. Russian editor dedicated Nobel Prize to these people. Despite a lot of threats, Dmitry Muratov consistently defends the right of journalists to write anything they want about whatever they want, as long as they comply with the professional and ethical standards of journalism.

The nomination process for Nobel Peace Prize laureates

Do you know…?

  • Since 1901, the Nobel Prizes have been presented to the Laureates at ceremonies on 10 December, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death. As stipulated in the will of the Alfred Nobelthe Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and Literature are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden, while the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded in Oslo, Norway.
  • There were 329 candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize for 2021 (234individuals and 95 organizations). It is the third highest number of candidates ever.t
  • Neither the names of nominators nor of nominees for the Nobel Peace Prize may be divulged until 50 years have elapsed.
  • The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to 137 laureates – to 109 individuals and 28 organizations.
  • Of the 109 individuals awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, 18 are women. The first time a Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to a woman was in 1905, to Bertha von Suttner
  • The youngest Nobel Peace Prize laureate is Malala Yousafzai, who was 17 years old when awarded the 2014 Peace Prize.
  • The oldest Nobel Peace Prize laureate is Joseph Rotblat, who was 87 years old when he was awarded the prize in 1995.
  • The Vietnamese politician Le Duc Tho, awarded the 1973 Nobel Peace Prizeis the only person who has declined the Nobel Peace Prize. Le Duc Tho said that he was not in a position to accept the Nobel Prize, citing the situation in Vietnam as his reason.
  • Jane Addams was nominated as many as 91 times between 1916 and 1931, when she was finally awarded the Nobel Peace Prize
  • The Nobel Peace Prize medal was designed by Norwegian sculptor Gustav Vigeland and shows Alfred Nobel in a pose slightly different from that of the other medals.
  • Each Nobel Prize diploma is a unique work of art, created by foremost Swedish and Norwegian artists and calligraphers






Article written by Patrycja Stodółkiewicz from class 2a.

On the 27th and 28th of September our school organized a two-day trip to Olsztyn. Its aim was to get to know the area of Jura better in terms of biological and geographical topics. We were offered a lot of attractions. That was very intensive time, we learned a lot about places which we visited and we observed nature. Some part of the day and the whole night we spent in “Jurajski” hotel. Most students had rooms for 5 or 6 persons. During this school trip we had possibilities to spend very nice and interesting time with other students from class 2a. We spent with them some free time, we played volleyball, we did some walking in the area and made bracelets on a loom.
On the first day, together with the guides, we climbed Towarne mountains and „Olsztyński Giewont”, that is Biakło. While we were standing at the top of Sokola Mountain, we saw the Olsztyn Castle. The next day we found Koralowa Cave. During our walk we saw a very old and beautiful quarry, where we had the opportunity to collect several types of rocks. Many people managed to “mine” a piece of calcite, sulfur, flint and galena. We also completed maps from the whole trip.
The excursion was a very interesting adventure, good fun and training for us. Everybody was happy and we would like to enjoy more trips!

news and pictures by Julia Caban and Maja Deska from 1 F, edited by Ms J. Wołkowicka